• Blueprint
  • Posts
  • The 4 Upsides to Changing Roles

The 4 Upsides to Changing Roles

Unlock career growth with a role change! Discover the top benefits, practical insights, and steps for a successful transition

There can be big upsides to switching teams, changing roles, or launching something new. I’ll share the top four that influenced me going from startup founder to startup employee.

In June of 2021, our startup had shut down and in typical founder fashion, we started building a new one — this time we committed to doing things differently. Both my co-founder and I decided to keep this a side project and find work of our own to be the foundation.

Ultimately, I found a new role at the startup I was targeting. After just two weeks in my new role, I’m experiencing career-defining catalysts that would have taken years to reach on my own.

If you’re holding out on getting that new job or uncertain about what to look for in your search, here are four benefits of changing roles that you might want to consider:

Domain switch

When you switch from one domain to another, you’re not just learning new concepts and gaining the ability to apply them. You’re also exposing yourself to new ways of thinking. In order to take on new responsibilities, you have to consider problems that you’d never thought about before.

Jumping into a new team felt strange and it was exactly what I needed.

After spending four years working at my own pace and operating principle, it became clear that I built some barriers to my mental model of work. No matter your role, the longer you’re in one job the more comfortable you become.

The domain switch allows you to be tested and keep your edge.

Financial upside

The financial upside can be a big driver for changing roles. By allowing you to take the accumulated experience of previous roles and package it into a higher-paying opportunity, changing companies or job titles can lead to a significant increase in pay.

My mom had a piece of advice for me when I would get stressed about my pay, “you can always always find a way to make money, and there’s always someone who’s paying more”, she said. It brings into focus the reality that if pay is your driving motivation, the opportunity to reach it will always be there.

As a practice, It’s always worth considering if the compensation you’re receiving matches the current market.

This was less of a priority for me when matched against the learning opportunities and who I could meet, though still important as an appropriate baseline for my family’s security.

Learning opportunity

You’ll learn something new. Even if your new role isn’t radically different from your old one, it’s likely that there will be differences in how things get done. A shift in responsibility can also create opportunities to learn new skills.

Joining a team of ambitious people was one of my biggest goals. I was eager to get back into a learning mentality, jumping into a rapidly scaling startup was just the opportunity I was looking for.

It could also be the case that the actual role you’re seeking is not yet within range. This is where a lateral jump within a talented team, no matter the title, could be more valuable than waiting for the perfect opportunity. It really comes down to whether or not you’re learning in your current role.

It pays dividends down the road when you are able to speak to the unique problems you’ve faced and solved for.

Raise your talent with talent

Unlock your potential in a Coho curated Fellowship, learn from industry leaders and peers for less than $7 a day. Scholarships and flexible payments available.

Expanded network

This might just be the biggest benefit of all.

Your network will grow. In any field, your network is your safety net and one of your most valuable assets.

My college Occupational Safety & Health professor used to tell us, “the opposite of networking is not-working.” By far one of the most accurate statements or learnings I left college with.

The opposite of networking is not-working.

Lawrence Mauerman (my infamous college professor)

By changing roles, you’ll have an opportunity to make connections with new people who can help you in the future. If you’re lucky, they might even be able to help find your next position down the road.

Building communities and access to networks have long been my passion. In this new role, I wanted to ensure I did everything possible to close the proximity between myself and those I wanted to meet.

A new role could be the catalyst you need

The four benefits above can be applied to new roles or the one you’re in today. Continue to audit whether the work you do matches the value you receive.

Taking the leap can be daunting, but the benefits can be career-defining.

Join the conversation

or to participate.